Flood Protection
What We Do
Construction site
Flood Preparedness

Marin County Flood Control and Water Conservation DistrictThe mission of the Marin County Flood Control and Water Conservation District (District) is to reduce the risk of flooding for the protection of life and property while utilizing sustainable practices. The District aims to meet this mission through effective, transparent, and responsive planning, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of District-owned facilities such as stormwater pump stations, detention basins, bypass drains, creeks, ditches, and levees.

About the District

The District’s geographical boundary is the same as the County’s and, as a whole, it has no source of revenue. Instead, revenue is collected via ad valorem taxes and fees paid by property owners in one of eight flood zones covering distinct geographical areas within the District. 

All expenditures by the District require authorization by the District Board of Supervisors. The five members of the Marin County Board of Supervisors serve on the District’s board. 

Eight zones have been established within the District to address specific flooding problems in the following areas: 

  • Zone 1 - Novato
  • Zone 3 - Richardson Bay
  • Zone 4 - Bel Aire
  • Zone 5 - Stinson Beach
  • Zone 6 - San Rafael Meadows
  • Zone 7 -Santa Venetia
  • Zone 9 - Ross Valley
  • Zone 10 - Inverness.

These flood zones do not cover the entire county and are, for the most part, concentrated in the county’s eastern urbanized corridor. The vast majority of the county’s land area is not contained within a designated zone.